Created in 2002 and funded by the Fonds de recherche du Quebec (FRQ-H) the Quebec Population Health Research Network (QPHRN/RRSPQ) regroups Quebec researchers working in public health and population, services and health policy and health and society. Their efforts aims to identify, understand and act on social determinants of health in order to guide public health interventions, inform public policy and ultimately improve population health. 

​6 Strategic Regroupments - 6 Networks of interdisciplinary researchers

The RRSPQ identifies six priority areas to strengthen the field of population health. The Network makes them its Strategic Regroupments (SR). By focusing on methodology themes, the Network intends to complement existing research groups, which have a health populations component . The Network succeeds in reaching and mobilizing researchers from humanities and social sciences which are less implicated directly in health research.

  1. Ethics and Integrity 
  2. Global Health
  3. Internet and Health
  4. Mental health
  5. Public Policy
  6. Social Inequalities of Health and Frontline services

Objectives of the Program

  1. Increase research capacity in population health:
    • Facilitate and encourage the scientific research and interdisciplinary collaboration;
    • Encourage networking between researchers from different disciplines and institutions;
    • Support the relief by training programs.
  2. To support organizational initiatives, such as:
    • The creation of longitudinal databases;
    • The development of partnerships to facilitate access to databases and their exploitation
  3. Promote the sharing and use of knowledge:
    • Encourage and facilitate interaction between researchers, public policy makers, managers, central and regional as well as local stakeholders.

Guiding Principles

  1. Aim for the highest scientific quality;
  2. Develop projects that focus on methodological approaches rather than specific content (eg, cancer, cardiovascular, etc.).
  3. Focus, through contests, research projects and transverse coherent with its guiding principles;
  4. Support of actions conducive to health research in Quebec populations,
  5. Encourage the creation of inter-institutional and multidisciplinary teams;
  6. Encourage partnerships;
  7. Enhance the expertise, experience and leadership of Quebec researchers;
  8. Develop infrastructure accessible to the greatest number of researchers in Quebec;
  9. Promote ethical and theoretical reflection;
  10. Develop the sake of knowledge use by decision makers, practitioners and the public;
  11. Focus, through its competition projects, the achievement of the objectives of the network;
  12. Manage the network in a transparent and open.


The main bodies of the QPHRN/RRSPQ are:

  • General Assembly
  • Board of Directors
  • Scientific Direction
  • Advisory Committee

The founding charter outlines the roles and responsibilities of each of its instances.

QPHRN organizational chart

General Assembly

The General Assembly comprises all members of RRSPQ. It takes place once a year, usually during the Journées annuelles de santé publique (JASP)in November.

Its functions are:

  • to endorse the strategic priorities;
  • to approve the annual report;
  • to elect members to the Board of Directors;
  • to recommend to the three Funding agencies, upon proposal to the Board of Directors, the appointment of a Scientific-Director;
  • to modify the statutes and regulations of the Network's Charter.

Board of Directors

The QPHRN/RRSPQ is administered by a Board of Directors composed of the Scientific Director and of twelve researcher members. Six of them are also responsible for a Strategic Priority. Their mandate is for a period of 2 years and may be renewed up to three times (6 years maximum).

List of Board of Directors members as of January 1st 2014:

Name, Firstname Organization 1st Term 2nd Term 3rd Term
Fournier, Louise U. de Montréal 2014    
Gagnon, France TELUQ 2013-2014    
Guay, Maryse U. Sherbrooke 2013-2014    
Gyorkos, Theresa U. McGill 2011-2012 2013-2014  
Hamelin-Brabant, Louise U. Laval 2013-2014    
Lemire, Marc INSPQ/IRSPUM 2015-    
Levy, Joseph UQÀM 2013-2014    
Loignon, Christine U. Sherbrooke 2015-    

Paradis, Gilles*

INSPQ/U.McGill 2013-2014*    

Robillard, Chantal

Weinstock, Daniel

U. Concordia/ UQÀM

U. McGill



Scientific Direction
Godard, Béatrice U. Montréal 2013-2016    

* Dr Gilles Paradis was the Network's Scientific Director from 2003 to 2013


Scientific Direction (2013-...)

The scientific direction of the Quebec Population Health Research Network is held by Dr Béatrice Godard since April 1st 2013.


Béatrice Godard, Ph.D.
Scientific Director
Quebec Population Health Research Network (RRSPQ)
Professeur, Département de Médecine sociale et préventive
Chercheur, Institut de recherche en santé publique de l'Université de Montréal
Université de Montréal
Pavillon 7101 Parc
7101 ave du Parc, #3105
Montréal (Québec) H3N 1X7

Tel.: (514) 343-6111 #44036
Fax: (514) 343-5645
Email: beatrice.godard@umontreal.ca
Website: www.omics-ethics.org


Thierry Hurlimann
Quebec Population Health Research Network (RRSPQ)
Université de Montréal
Pavillon 7101 Avenue du Parc
Bureau 3025 - 3° étage
Montréal (Québec) H3N 1X7

Tel.: (514) 343-6111 #26730
Fax: (514) 343-5645
Email: rrspq.coordination@gmail.com


Advisory Committee

Made up of active and recognized members in population health, the Committee is mandated to play an advisory role to the Board and make recommendations throughout the development process and implementation of the Action Plan 2014- 2018. The committee meets twice a year: the first meeting is to be aware of the activities; the second meeting is to assess the progress of activities, challenges and offer actionable insights that address the new challenges in the population health field.

The Advisory Committee consists of three (3) members at minimum. The members of the Advisory Committee mandate shall be three (3) years with possibility of renewal once.


Members of the Network's Advisory Committee as of July 1st, 2015 :

Name Affiliation 1st Mandate 2nd Mandate 3d Mandate
Bergeron, Pierre
INSPQ 2015    
Blain, Marie-France ASPC 2015    
Denis, Jean-Louis ENAP 2015    
Patenaude, johanne Sherbrooke Univ. 2015    


Support for research / QPHRN competitions
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

FR/EN: Concours Prix étudiants de thèses de maîtrise et de doctorat / Students best thesis and master's competition

Le RRSPQ lance son concours de Prix étudiants de thèses de Maîtrise (MSc) et de Doctorat (PhD) portant sur un sujet lié à la recherche en santé des populations. The QPHRN announces its students competition. These awards aim to acknowledge Master's and Doctorate students' contribution to the field of population health research.

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

EN/FR: Refugee mental health and mental health in humanitarian emergencies / La santé mentale des réfugiés et la santé mentale en cas d’urgence humanitaire

Une série de webinaires sur la santé mentale mondiale soutenue par le RRSPQ (Central) et le RS Éthique - A Global health webinar series supported by the Network.

FR/EN: Annonce du début des concours du RRSPQ / QPHRN starting competitions 2019

Le réseau lance trois de ses concours annuels. The network announces three of its annual competitions. 

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

FR/EN/ES: Expanding Youth Access to Mental Health Care: Lessons from a School-Based Study in Haiti

Une série de wébinaires soutenues par le RRSPQ. A Global Mental Health Webinar Series supported by the QPHRN: Critical, Cultural, and Practical Perspectives. Versión española disponible.